Gibbs Selected as Sparta Mayor for 2013

Veteran Jerry Murphy and newcomer Christine Quinn sworn in at reorganization meeting.

In a calm and efficient reorganization meeting Thursday night, incumbent Jerry Murphy and newcomer Christine Quinn were sworn into three-year terms on the Sparta Township Council.

Coincilman Gilbert Gibbs was chosen as mayor for 2013, and Councilwoman  Molly Whilesmith was selected as deputy mayor.

Murphy is beginning his fourth term on the council. Quinn was appointed to the seat held previously by Councilman Scott Seelagy, who chose not to seek a fifth term.

Murphy has served on the council during a time of budget cuts and tight spending that resulted last year in cuts to the police department.

Quinn in her campaign called for careful spending and said she would promote the use of grants to support township programs.

Gibbs and Murphy will fill seats on the planning board, while Whilesmith fills a liaison seat on the senior advisory committee and the municipal alliance committee.

Gibbs and Councilman John Schon are liaisons to Sussex County and Gibbs is the liaison to the board of education.

Murphy and Schon are the council representatives on the economic development committee, and Quinn was appointed as council liaison to the cultural affairs subcommittee.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »